Tula was founded in 1146, it is one year earlier than Moscow.
Tula got its name from the river Tulitsa, which was flowing through the thick wood. The river got its name from a strange word “zatul’ye”, which means an inaccessible place.
In the Tula region the smallest town of Russia is situated, its name is Chekalin. Its population is 944 people.
A three-meter tall statue of a tyrannosaur was erected at the entrance to the exotarrium. Tula dwellers call it “a monument to a mother-in-law”. The largest collection of reptiles is displayed in the exotarrium – more than 500 species.
The image on a five-thousand banknote is also connected with Tula. N.N. Murav’yev-Amurskiy, the monument to whom is on a five-thousand banknote, was a Tula governor in 1846.
The first blast-furnace factory was built in Tula. The first armoury yard was opened in Tula in 1705, and in 1712 by Peter the Great edict the first Tula armoury plant was set up.
In Bogorodistk in the estate of the counts Bobrinskiys the first children theatre was founded in 1779 by a famous scientist-encyclopedist A.T. Bolotov.
The unique Tula gingerbread was considered the one which was baked in a baking tin, which was 10-20 years old. A gingerbread could be baked in it only once. The second gingerbread cooked in this tin was not unique. One of such unique gingerbreads was baked for the coronation of Nickolay II. There was the image of the tzar on the gingerbread.
Tula central park of P.P. Belousov is one of 10 largest parks of Europe. The total territory of the park is 143 hectares, 97 of which are covered with greenery.
The first perpetual flame in the USSR was set in Pervomayskiy settlement , Schyokinskiy district, Tula region on the 9th of May, 1955 to commemorate those who were killed during the Great Patriotic War.