The date of the first mention of Tula is 1146, a year older than Moscow!
The name of the city of Tula gave Tulitsa river, secretly flowing among the dense forests. The river got its name from the strange words "satula," which was a hidden, inaccessible place.
In the Tula region is the smallest city in Russia – Chekalin. Its population is only 944 people.
A three-meter statue of a Tyrannosaurus Rex mounted in the Tula front of ekzotarium, Tula called "monument to the mother-in-law". In the Tula ekzotarium assembled the world's largest collection of reptiles – more than 500 species.
The image on the five thousandth bill is connected with Tula. N. N. Muravyov-Amur, a monument which is depicted on the 5 th bill, in 1846, was the Tula Governor.
The first blast furnace plant of the Moscow state was built in Tula. The first "State arms yard" was opened in Tula in 1705, and in 1712 the Tula arms factory was founded by the decree of Peter the great.
The first children's theater in Russia was established in 1779 in the city of Bogoroditsk, Tula province, in the estate of count Bobrinsky, Manager of the famous scientist-encyclopedist A. T. Bolotov.
Unique Tula gingerbread is the one baking dish, which were cut and insists 10-20 years. It was then that it was possible to bake gingerbread, but only once. The second gingerbread, baked in the same form, was no longer considered unique. One of these unique cakes was baked for the coronation of Nicholas II. The carrot was a picture of the profile of the king.
Tula Central Park named after p. Belousov is one of the ten largest parks in Europe. The total area of the Park is 143 hectares, 97 of which are covered with greenery.
The first in the USSR Eternal flame was lit in the village of Pervomaisky Shchekinsky district of Tula region on may 9, 1955 in memory of the fallen in the great Patriotic war.