Bogoroditsk was located some distance away from the Great Zasechnaya Cherta (Great Abatis Border), but was an integral part of it. There was an observation post, from where the abatis border guards looked out for the Crimean hordes moving towards Moscow along the Muravsky Trail. During the reign of Tsar Aleksey Mikhailovich Romanov, in 1663, the fortress called Bogoroditskaya (Mother of God) was built here. All the sights of the town of Bogoroditsk in Tula Region, which we can see today, appeared much later.
These lands belonged to Empress Catherine the Great. In the 1770s, a beautiful palace was to be constructed on the site of the ruined burg. The architect of this landmark of Bogoroditsk and Tula Region was Ivan Yegorovich Starov, the creator of the Trinity Cathedral and the Tauride Palace in St. Petersburg. After the death of the Empress, the estate went to the son of hers and Grigory Orlov, Aleksey Grigorievich Bobrinsky.
There are two monuments in the palace park: one to Catherine the Great, the other to the great Russian scientist Andrey Bolotov. The current fan-shaped layout of Bogoroditsk, as well as the advanced design of the local park, can be credited to Andrey Bolotov. The observation deck of the palace offers a stunning view of the pond and the town. This is a great place to take spectacular photos.
Representatives of the Bobrinsky dynasty made an impressive contribution to the development of industry, science and the social sphere of the Russian Empire. Aleksey Pavlovich Bobrinsky, the grandson of Catherine the Great, became the Minister of Railways in 1871. During his tenure, 21 thousand versts of railway lines were built in Russia. One of the attractions of Bogoroditsk and Tula Region – the Zhdanka Station Museum – is dedicated to his work.
The best tourist sites of the town and the region are available on our website. Addresses, coordinates and descriptions of the sights of Bogoroditsk will help you create an interesting weekend itinerary.