Is the Tula Museum of Fine Arts worth visiting?
Let us figure it out!
Three floors of original treasures of both Russian and foreign artists. You can see here the unique works of domestic masters of the 16th-17th centuries, as well as Western European representatives of the craft.
Let me make you want to see the Tula Museum of Fine Arts with the following names: Orazio Sammakini, Leandro Bassano, Aivazovsky, Polenov, Shishkin, Konchalovsky, Kuindzhi, Malevich, Serov, Kandinsky…
Where did such treasures come from in Tula?
Make yourself comfortable! Let us take a short historical tour!
It all started back in 1884. The current Tula Museum of Fine Arts, as we may say, is a descendant of the so-called "Chamber of Antiquities." This chamber, founded by the Tula diocese, included not only paintings but also archaeological artifacts.
The collection had stored in the premises of the Bishop's court and by the beginning of the 20th century, it had already grown so much that the City Duma thought about building a museum in the Tula Kremlin.
Talented architects prepared a project for a two-story building of the "Chamber of Antiquities." However, the war broke out in 1914 and construction never started. Then came the revolution.
How happy our ancestors from the Noble Assembly and the City Duma would have been if they saw the modern Exhibition Center of the Tula Kremlin!
In 1919, the Soviet government summoned 19-year-old "specialists" from Moscow to nationalize the wealth of noble estates and transfer them to museums. A precious collection of great pieces of art, which saw both damp basements and the ignorance of the proletariat during the civil war, had been collected.
The future Museum of Fine Arts was first located at 8 Mendeleevskaya Str., in the current building of the Samovar Museum, after which the Museum moved to the house of the Noble Assembly.
It was only in 1964 that the Museum of Fine Arts found its current address. Nowadays, there was finally enough space for unique masterpieces. All items stored in the "Chamber of Antiquities" were divided by essence and sent to the branches created for them: the Museum of Local Lore, the Museum of the Artist Krylov, the Exhibition Hall, the Spasskoye Museum, and many others.
You may ask, how many of these unique masterpieces are that they had to huddle on quite large areas all the history of their existence?
The Foundation of the Tula Regional Art Museum stores about 23 thousand original pieces of art!
Then, we note that the Museum's opening hours are from 10:00 to 18:00, from 12:00 to 20:00 on Wednesdays. The Museum is closed on Mondays! The ticket price for an adult visitor is 200 rubles. This is taking into account the fact that it is allowed to take photos and shoot videos inside, as well as perfectly relax in Central Park of Culture and Recreation after a visit. It seems that the ticket price is quite reasonable.
Well, are we going to the Museum of Fine Art?
Во время поездки в Тулу открыла для себя этот прекрасный музей. Располагает достойной внимания коллекцией живописи, расположенной на трех этажах, и включающей в себя в том числе произведения известных мастеров.
80 - 200 рублей